E-books and the Slow Book Movement, Chapter Two

So last week, I launched the Slow Book Movement as an act of resistance against the e-book.  It was futile, of course, kind of like insisting on the glories of  cuneiform.  Because not two days after I posted, swarms of  e-people descended on the gadget store, all buzzing and hyperventilating, hardly able to wait for their turn to catch the latest whatsit to fall out of the apple tree.   Well, I counted the $600 I still had in my pocket, rolled over in my hammock and took a long snooze.  When I woke up, I was in one of my slow moods, which made me think of last summer, when my little friend Lucas and I sat quietly on the lower bunk in his room to read a book.  We’d been for a long walk earlier in the day and were ready for a change of pace.  Slower.   So I held the book on my lap and turned the big pages, which sounded like szslis, and we stared at the pictures and Lucas pointed and wondered and we talked.  I read it aloud, and we skipped over some parts that Lucas didn’t care for and back-tracked to some pages we especially liked, and Lucas took it all in and the afternoon sun came shining through the high little window just like I planned it.

That was either the day before or the day after I went trout fishing with my daughter up there on a little Creek in Oregon, on another sunny afternoon full of freshness and summer air.  Erin and her boyfriend and I caught enough fish for each of us to have two, and we cooked ’em up and ate ’em along with some homegrown tomatoes and basil, outside  on the deck while the summer sun seemed like it never did want to go down.

So, if Rule #1 of the Slow Book Movement is Meander, browse and see what turns up, Rule #2 is Go fishing, eat a trout, and read a book with a shining little boy.  No batteries required.

Tags: , ,

15 Responses to “E-books and the Slow Book Movement, Chapter Two”

  1. Mike Says:

    Pick one off the shelf that you haven’t visited with in a while. Take your time and get to know it again.

  2. Annick Says:

    My kids also love reading books over and over again… until they can ‘read’ them to me (their version of the story since they can’t actually read yet). Some of them I know by heart at this point, like:
    “Once there were three baby owls: Sarah and Percy and Bill. They lived in a hole in the trunk of a tree with their owl mother. The hole had twigs, and leaves, and owl feathers in it. It was their house.”
    It’s a story about three baby owls who wake up at night to find their mom gone. They get scared and start to imagine all sorts of scenarios with Bill continuously repeating “I want my mommy!” Eventually their owl mother gets back and the baby owls jump around in excitement. Then the mom says “What’s all the fuss? You knew I’d come back.” Then the baby owls think again – “I knew it,” said Sarah. “And I knew it!” said Percy. “I love my mommy!” said Bill.
    The girls just love it… and I am a fan of the slow book movement.

    • Tracy Says:

      Awesome! I should have a sign-up sheet. Annick, I don’t know the story of the owls, but can surely understand why the little ones in your house would love it. Mommy always comes back!

  3. david silver Says:

    i like your movement and your movement’s rules – i’m in.

  4. Christina Says:

    Wealthy people still have home libraries, access to more information and they are the ones selling you those gadgets that cost more than most make in a week, after taxes. Statistics show wealthy teens have pocket money they use for books at Barnes and Nobles. Smart people read books. Their children have access to books. Print is not dead by a long shot, it’s handed down, inherited, and I can resell a book. It holds it’s value.

    • Tracy Says:

      Thanks, Christina–Yes, the gadget market bothers me, too, almost as much as the danger of losing books. The environmental impact alone of all those gadgets proliferating, becoming obsolete and upgraded every year, ending up in landfills–woo boy, it’s huge. So happy reading to you and yours.

  5. Shannon Seeley Walters Says:

    Absolutely, fabulously, lovely. Nothing will replace the utterly satisfying feel of pages made from loving trees, inked upon with timeless words on which I can chew, ruminate, digest and re-eat at my convenience, in daylight, evening light, any light. Turning the pages, not turning the pages, loving the power I hold in my hand that requires, as you say, no batteries.

    I’m in!

    Love you, T.

    • Tracy Seeley Says:

      Thanks, Shannon! I’m proud to welcome you in to the secret tribe of hold-outs! Just don’t regurgitate those words! Why does the internet make me use so many exclamation points!?

  6. Tara Seeley Says:

    A gift SLOW BOOK just arrived via slow mail, and I am so excited.

    Just yesterday, as I waited for a doctor’s appointment, then the EKG tech, then the blood draw lab, I was thinking the Slow Book Movement needed AHAB: Always Have A Book. I had raced out of the house to get to the early morning appointment on time, and found myself with no decent reading material. I could easily have savored several pages or even a chapter in those accumulated minutes.

    So now, I AHAB–unless I devour it, as I am wont to do with this particular author.

    • Tracy Seeley Says:

      Great idea–you’re now Captain AHAB! Ahoy! Thanks for the great idea–I’ll do a post on it. Next Slow Book post, though, is going to be about how e-media kills more trees than books do. Honest truth. Can’t wait to tell the tale.

  7. I. Alexander Olchowski Says:

    Hey Tracy, found your blog when searching in Google under the name of the movement I founded last November – The Slow Book Movement. I also have a Library Of Congress copyright for it, and a website, and a growing list of members. The next plan is to make it a non-profit. We should work together, because it’s better than the other option.

    Alexander.

  8. John Miedema » Shining Little Boy by Tracy Seeley Says:

    […] and browse through the big pages and pictures of a book with her little friend, Lucas. In this picture, see how the pages of the book in Tracy’s hands shine on Lucas’ face, eager with […]

  9. convertiré Says:

    That is a good tip particularly to those fresh to the blogosphere.
    Brief but very accurate information… Thanks for sharing this
    one. A must read post!

Leave a comment